Google Search
Google Translate
School Logo

Larkfields Infant School

(0115) 9137730

Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years Foundation Stage


Early childhood is the foundation on which children build the rest of their lives. At Larkfields Infant School we greatly value the important role that the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) plays in developing secure foundations for future learning.


The EYFS is for children from birth to five years of age. The final year of the EYFS is referred to as the Reception year (FS2), which is when children enter our school. We have one intake of Reception children in September. Children will enter with varying experiences and abilities. Their needs will therefore vary. They require a well-planned and resourced curriculum to take their learning forward.


Learning and Development


The areas of learning as described by the “Statutory Framework for Early Years Foundation Stage” document (Department of Children Schools and Families, 2012) are:


Prime Areas:-


  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
  • Communication and Language (CL)
  • Physical Development (PD)


Specific Areas:-


  • Literacy (L)
  • Numeracy (N)
  • Understanding of the World (UW)
  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)


We believe these six areas are equally important and depend on each other to support a rounded approach to child development. We deliver all the areas through a combination of: planned, purposeful play, with a balance of adult led and child initiated activities, and direct teaching.

Being the Best That We can Be